emotional flu

i have a heavy cold and it makes my head feel like an anvil. i am bursting with happiness inside though, which is strange. i went to write a poem, the best poem i have ever written, all the ideas were there. then i remembered i must clean the car. i went outside and a man in a black car asked me for directions twice, once on the way outside, and again as i walked back. i think he was lost. i said, “that way, i think.” the second time i said, “try down there.” there was lots of rubbish on the floor outside my house so i picked it up and put it in the bin. i felt no better physically, but maybe a little better socially. the happiness is still there, it’s still there, just there. i would shout it from the rooftops but it might hurt my throat, or i might spill my hot coffee, or might get dizzy and fall off. tried to write the best poem i have ever written, but i couldn’t. i think i’ll go to bed for a bit. see if i feel better when i wake up.

2 Responses to “emotional flu”

  1. feverish physically and feverish emotionally eh? wish you could spread the happiness to me, i need some right now.

  2. About 5 years ago, I came down hard with the flu and missed a week of work. All I could do was watch t.v. and play video games. Something weird happened. I began crying over t.v. commercials that had some melodrama. I cried while watching the Chris Farley tribute! Several of my friends reported to me that they, too, had the exact same thing happen to them. We called it the “Emotional Flu.” Were we all depressed, or was this a legit physical phenomena?

Leave a Reply

